The Breakers Stable and Carriage House complex, located on Coggeshall Avenue a few blocks west of The Breakers, was designed and built in 1895
by Richard Morris Hunt, who also did the greenhouses for The Breakers. This unique building, when fully equipped and staffed, was an extremely
important addition to The Breakers. Before a 1970 fire (arson was suspected)
destroyed an upper story, the brick stables had room for 26 horses, a variety of carriages, and accommodations for at least a dozen grooms.
A private collection of various Vanderbuilt memorabilia, including the famous coach Venture and other coaches and carriages, as well as
liveries, harnesses, and riding equipment, is on display. Also displayed were various personal photographs of various family members and
friends on their horses and in their coaches. "All Aboard the New York Central with the Vanderbilts" is a continuing
From here you may continue on a tour of all the mansions we have visited within Rhode Island in the order that we have seen them, go to an overview of all those RI mansions, go back to our Rhode Island page, or return to the beginning of S&L's Adventures Emporium.